top of page
Writer's pictureFinn Davey

Centaurworld was not what it seemed (and that's great!)

Updated: Apr 24, 2022


When this show first popped up on my Netflix and the trailer started automatically playing, I was initially put off by it. Thinking it was just another dumb children's show that Netflix has mistakenly suggested for me.


However after getting bombarded with the trailers for it every time I logged on, I decided to watch the first episode and see what it was about. Let me just say, I could not have been more wrong about my previous thoughts. Instantly thrown into a dark and gritty war-torn world. None of the rainbows and goofy characters that the trailers had shown me. This had to be one of the best hooks into a story I've ever seen. Without this cold open into a highly detailed and adult looking animation, I don't think many viewers would have stayed around.


The opening sets up a mystery and fills your head with questions which gets you to keep watching until the end. It's not long after the intro sequence when we're taken into Centaurworld and greeted with the bizarre characters from the trailers. However instead of looking at this with cringe, it's now with the uttermost interest. How could these rounded, bright and goofy looking characters fit into what seems to be a dark and evil lore?


I'd recommend giving this show a chance. It's got some great animation, good character development and an excellent line up of voice actors that really bring life into each and every character.

There are only two seasons, just enough to tell the story that the creator had envisioned. It has a clear direction to it and I love how child-like characters have been combined with themes of war, suffering and betrayal. Certainly a unique show.

Comentarios


bottom of page