top of page
Writer's pictureFinn Davey

Why I enjoy making creature feature movies


Monsters

They can either make or ruin a movie depending how well they are used and how interesting the design or concept of the creature is.


So why do I have such an interest in making movies heavily featuring monsters and creatures, if I know it could potentially end up flopping?

Well... it's fun!


I've always had an interest in biology and the natural world, and creating new and unique creatures gives me the opportunity to take some real world biology and try and apply it to a fictional beast. Think up how it may have evolved, why it behaves the way it does, etc, etc.


When the creatures start to stray further away from our real world science, that just means I get to come up with an entire new world that has completely different rules to are own. Such the case with the Magicverse in my films. Creatures from there are seemingly more magical and can do things that would be impossible in real life. However I still want to apply some biology to them. That means I can make up some unique biology to the world that allows for this evolutionary path to produce such a strange animal. It makes no sense to our real world, but put it in where it belongs and it's perfect. Still applying the basics such as reproduction, genes, mutations, ecosystems, diet and so on.


Not really sure where I'm going with this but it fills up a bit of space.

So yeah

I like monsters.

Comments


bottom of page